Facebook Withdrawals, Pt. 4(?)

Day Something Or Other

When there’s something cool I find on the internet, something really cool that I’d never seen before and think other people haven’t seen before, something like this:

Something I know a particular subset of people would think is cool, I want to share it with them, I want to feel cool doing it, and I want them to like it. I want it instantly, I want it NOW and I can’t because I’m not on Facebook. There are people I don’t actually hang out with but am maybe better friends with in an online capacity. Does that mean we actually like each other, though? Or do our left-brains connect? Do we connect on the basis of keeping our right-brains slightly active while others’ atrophy in a world of words and typing? Why do I need other people to think I’m cool? Why do I need other people in order to think I’m cool?

The people I would share this with will never see it because there isn’t going to be a “next time I see them.” This upsets me. I’m not sad; I’m not angry. I’m frustrated to a level that felt like this belonged in the withdrawals category.

I rejoined The Old Reader, because something about Feedly bothers me and I don’t use it. It’s the way the feed works. It’s difficult and clumsy when it comes to getting rid of what I’ve already read or had no interest in. The Old Reader is closer to original Google Reader in that it makes it rather simple and fast to comb through the sites I want to be in touch with that day, skip from article to article, and hide those I’ve read already. Also, it still had all my Google Reader sites in it from when I first tried it back when GR went away.

Something I noticed: 98% of the blogs I’d been following all stop around 2011-2013. Using this infographic, I’m going to say this is after the much-ballyhooed alterations to our Newsfeed in 2009. You know, the “Popular Posts” change, cascading to several other timeline algorithm changes over the next two years. It’s the one where you have to consciously change it back to chronological (a much less addictive, less reductive, less manipulated way to experience the site) every day, or few hours, or few days seemingly at random, or it would silently revert to Most Popular setting. I have a sneaking suspicion there’s a connection to the drop-off of blogs and the Most Popular setting and the increase in Facebook addiction and, you guessed it, the 2016 electoral cycle. Maybe 2012 was the end of the world, after all.

Without any real scientific research to back this up, I have a sneaking suspicion there’s a connection between: the drop-off of blogs, the Most Popular setting, an increase in Facebook addiction and, you guessed it, the 2016 electoral cycle and its surrounding chaos and general inability of the Western populace to tell reality from their own information bubbles.

Maybe 2012 was the end of the world, after all.

